Thursday, December 30, 2010

The Regal Eagle of Westham Island...

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Saturday Series: Songbirds of Westham Island

Red-breasted Nuthatch

Red-Winged Blackbird

Northern flicker

Fox Sparrow

Black-capped Chickadee

Spotted Towhee

Golden-crowned Sparrow

Song Sparrow

Cedar Waxwing

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Backyard Birds: The Northern Flicker

I have a beautiful pair of Northern Flickers visiting my backyard suet feeders, several times a day. This morning, the female arrived first, while her mate waited patiently in a nearby tree. She took her sweet time getting to the block but he didn't fly over until she was through [the last photo shows the male feeding]. See. Chivalry is not dead.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Wings on Wednesday

Monday, November 15, 2010

Just Ducky!

Here are just some of the ducks I have observed in British Columbia, this year...

Mallard [female]

White-winged Scoter [male]

Ring-necked Duck Pair

Gadwall [male]

Northern Shoveler [female]

Wood Duck [male]

Bufflelhead [male]

American Wigeon [female]

American Wigeon [male]

Northern Pintail [male]

Scaup [female]

Scaup [male]

Hooded Merganser [male]

Hooded Merganser [female]